Short Films

'Wingless' by Jason Manak

May 11, 2011
Post Image

Wingless was my thesis project for my MFA at the Academy of Art University in San Francisco, completed on May 11th, 2011. It’s a fun little film that’s meant to feel like a segment from a full length feature and not a typical student short film. Hope you enjoy!

Directed and Created by Jason Manak

Brooke M. Anderson – Lilienne
Matt Anderson – Kion
Voice Recording / Editing – Laughing Tiger Studios
Sound Design – Thomas Joyce
Music – Justin R. Durban
Animation Advisor – Ben Kerr
Editing Advisor – David Tanaka

Short Films

'The Rook Moves' by: Shawn Nelson

March 11, 2011
Post Image


First Place Winner – FictionFest International Film Festival – Landmine Media DVXUser
Shot on Red MX Digital Cinema Camera using only the Red 300mm lens for every single shot.
Chantelle Nelson, Josiah Nelson, Dr. Michael Friedrichs, Emma Pelett
Written and Directed by Shawn Nelson
Cinematography by Christopher Alley
Produced by Jay Lance and Shawn Nelson
Music Composed by Justin R. Durban
Sound Design and Mix by Alan Chang
Assistant Camera: Jerry Turner
2nd AC: Lauren Pollock
Grips: Tony Forsyth, Ryan Unger, Zach Olson
MUA: Sarah Haley
Boom Op: AJ Brooks
Sound Mixer: Joshua Brown
BTS Shot by Zack Olson

The Rook Moves - Shawn Nelson



Short Films

'The Pond' by Saunders Sisters

November 20, 2010
Post Image

Living amongst the ruins of the Dust Bowl and in the absence of a mother who has fled, Claire longs for freedom from a father who blames her for the family’s misfortunes.

Written/Directed/Produced by: Ashley and Leslie Saunders
Cinematography and Editing by: E.J. Enriquez
Music by: Justin R. Durban

Nominated for the 2010 ASC Student Heritage Award, 2010 Kodak Scholarship Program by the University of Texas RTF Department and for Los Angeles Reel Film Festival Best Cinematography Award.

Camera: Panavision Panaflex GII
Lenses: Super Speed MKII’s
Film Stock: Kodak Vision 3, 5219 and Kodak Vision 3, 5207


Short Films

‘Duel Of The Dorks’ by: Nathainel Caauwe

September 11, 2010
Post Image

Directed by: Nathainel Caauwe 
**Winner 3rd Place
Lightsaber Choreography Competition VIII

Music By: Justin R. Durban




Cue Track In Player

Short Films

'The Bridge' by: Marlon Torres

September 10, 2010
Post Image

Henry Sullivan – Pablo Soriano
James Connelly – Mike French
Samantha Johnson – Leah Thompson
Mitchell Walker – Mitch Walker

Music by:
Justin R. Durban

Produced by:
Amy Ng

Written, Directed, Shot, and Edited by:
Marlon Torres

Tech Specs:

Camera: Canon 5D Mark II, Canon 7D
Lenses: Canon 35mm f2, 50mm f1.4, 85mm 1.8, 100mm f2.8, 24-105mm f4L, 70-200 f4L
Sound: Zoom H4N, Rode NTG2
Running Time: 30 minutes
Format: 1.85:1 H.264 HD

For more information about the filmmaker, please visit:

Or email him at:
Or add him on: